1940s patterns – which one to choose?!

Next week I go back to school, and I am doing a course called Vintage Fashion: 1940s and 1950s.

For the course we are required to bring a 1940s or 1950s inspired pattern, so I have spent the last little while looking on eBay at 1940s patterns! While I know that 1950s style dresses suit me well I already own a couple of dresses and patterns, and think there might be more scope for learning new techniques in the 1940s dresses.

Here are some of my favourites – most of which come from The Vintage Pattern Store eBay shop. If you click on the image it should take you to the eBay listing itself.

Now all I need to do is decide which one to get!

16 thoughts on “1940s patterns – which one to choose?!

  1. Either the 2nd one (because I love the 3rd teal coloured dress) or the 4th one because of the neckline. Get two, hell get them all.

    Miss you.

    X

      • I did also want to ask you. Have ever done a post on old pattern size conversion? I am not sure how much pattern sizes have changed over the decades. I have often shopped on etsy and such for patterns of this era, but am not certain what would be my size.

      • I’m afraid I’ve never worked with a vintage pattern before, so as yet can’t really advise. From looking on Etsy and eBay though, sellers do often give the bust, waist and hip measurements from the pattern so I guess it’s just a case of finding the one that fits your measurements the best, rather than going by what size it says it is.

        If I do find out more when I start the course though I will be sure to let you know!

  2. Oh I wish I could take that class with you! Sounds like a ball, and what a great opportunity! Love all of these and all the details, unique waistlines, yokes, gathering.

      • I’ll derive some vicarious pleasure from your posts! I grew up sewing, and honestly, one of the toughest classes in college was my apparel design one! Delirious from no sleep, I cut through my palm once. Another time, the needle on the industrial went straight through my finger haha!

  3. Oooh, that Advance 2319 is gorgeous! That would be my pick. 🙂

    By the way, the second one down is a current Butterick re-released retro pattern, so you can usually pick it up pretty cheap at your local pattern/fabric store. I’ve made that one up twice already – it’s a nice style, but if you go for it I highly recommend making it in a fabric that drapes well and doesn’t have too much of a pattern, otherwise it’s hard to see all the lovely stitching details.

  4. Those images and the poses make the women look like French Resistance in Nazi Germany – secretly passing messages, observing each other…

  5. Pingback: My 1940s Dress | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

