My 1930’s dress so far

Due to missing my 20s and 30s lesson last week, I am extra looking forward to my lesson today and can hopefully catch up a bit. Thank you for all the comments on which dress I should try and make – most of you suggested the one on the left below, which is also my favourite so we are all in agreement!

I think I might make it a bit longer though so it is more in keeping with the period. I’ve also been thinking about the sleeves a bit more. They were in part inspired by some David Hockney paintings I like (how on trend am I – didn’t even realise the Royal Academy were doing an exhibition of his work when I did this :-)), and partly by the middle Vionnet dress below.

I think I want the sleeves to be a bit more sparkly though, which would obviously be an awful lot of work. I just came across this 1930s dress on vintagetextile.com – aren’t the sleeves amazing! I would estimate me getting something like these done in approximately a million years. Maybe when the baby is old enough I can make it do it for me ‘for fun’ (just kidding!).

Image sources
http://thelendinglibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/david-hockney.html
http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/news-features/TMG5614830/Vionnet-exhibition-opens-in-Paris.html
http://vintagetextile.com/new_page_155.htm#bot

3 thoughts on “My 1930’s dress so far

  1. Pingback: My 1930s dress toile | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

