Vintage Maternity Patterns

It had to happen some time really!!

As a fan of vintage clothes and patterns (for the pictures at the moment, have never actually sewn one!), I have been doing a bit of exploring on Etsy to see what might be out there for me to try or buy.

Here are some of my favourite patterns so far.

This pattern is from Zombarella, and I’ve been admiring it for a few months now. While it looks great in the illustration, my main concern is how tent like it might make me look.

FREE SHIPPING Vintage 1950 Simplicity 3196 Sewing Pattern Maternity Dress and Bolero in Misses Size 12 Bust 30

Now, I’m not entirely sure where these women are hiding their bumps, or how they are managing to have a waistline, so I would be intrigued to get this pattern just to understand how it even works!

Vintage Misses Maternity Dress with "Let-Out seams" Simplicity Pattern 6590 Complete 1966 size 10, Stylish

I love this dress from Cherry Corners! And the one below from Classic Cabin.

Maternity One-Piece Dress in Misses' Sizes, Vintage 1965 Sewing Pattern- Simplicity 6023

And finally here is a slightly more modern 70s number below, from Erika With a K. I think the maxi dress on the left would be super comfortable in the summer when I am HUGE!!

1970s Maternity Dress Top - Vintage Sewing Pattern McCall's 4637 - 38 Bust UNCUT

Now all I need to do is narrow down these and the 20 or so others I’ve found, and decide which ones to buy. Hope no-one beats me to it!

Image sources
http://www.etsy.com/shop/Zombarella?ref=seller_info
http://www.etsy.com/listing/41929444/free-shipping-vintage-1950-simplicity
http://www.etsy.com/listing/77767835/vintage-misses-maternity-dress-with-let
http://www.etsy.com/listing/89698714/maternity-one-piece-dress-in-misses
http://www.etsy.com/listing/89279861/1970s-maternity-dress-top-vintage-sewing

3 thoughts on “Vintage Maternity Patterns

      • I don’t mind sewing! bring it on! I just wish there were some free patterns for vintage maternity clothing out there on the web. Even knit/crochet patterns are hard to come by. I feel like buying a ton of them and starting my own site to share the wealth.

Leave a Reply

