What Next?

Now that the Pillowcase Dress Challenge is coming to an end, I am able to think about what I would like to make for me. Me, me, me, me, me!

I still have my birthday dress to make for New Years Eve, and all the patterns from my mum’s collection to go through and choose which one to tackle first.

As well as those, I bought a couple of Vogue patterns in a sale recently (yes, I definitely needed more patterns on top of all the ones I already have).

I got this pattern after seeing the versions that Karen has been making over at Did You Make That? I’m going to New York in February and usually fly in the ugliest, most comfortable clothes I own. Not this time! I found some lovely turquoise jersey on Walthamstow Market which is going to make a super comfy version of this dress. Also having never sewn with jersey before, I thought I would give it a go!

So, the patterns are ready, the fabric has been selected and washed – what’s stopping me?!

5 thoughts on “What Next?

  1. Yay! This truly is the perfect dress for flying in. The jersey sounds lovely. Nothing is stopping you – it’s a very simple make. One tip, though: the pattern advises attaching the inside of the collar by using stitch in the ditch. On two makes, I never quite managed to catch all of the inside hem. On my third make, I just handstitched this in place. Stitchy Witch did the same thing on her version of this dress. One more tip: I’ve never bothered adding clear elastic to the arm holes and the dresses have never suffered for this omission. (Though I’ve always used fairly sturdy jerseys.)

  2. Pingback: My First Pattern | Peggy's Pickles

  3. Pingback: Finished project: V1179 dress | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

