Thanks for a great night!

Despite all my worries beforehand, last night’s Pillowcase Dress embellishing event at Drink, Shop & Do was a great success – thank you to everyone who came and helped out!

For those of you that love stats, here is what we achieved (in the very dim lighting!):

30 People keen to sew
33 Pre-made dresses embellished
20 New dresses brought along by the wonderful Lisa
11 New dresses brought along by other lovely seamstresses

Which means:

131 Dresses made so far – amazing!

If anyone has dresses waiting / nearly made at home I’d really appreciate it if you could try and get them to me by the end of the year, or at least let me know they’re on their way. That way I can announce the grand total! You can email me at spally55@hotmail.com and I’ll let you know my address.

A lovely mix of people came, from those who hadn’t really sewn before, a birthday party, and some fellow bloggers (sorry if I missed anyone) – Dibs, Rachel from House of Pinheiro, Alana from Lazy Stitching, Janene from Ooobop, and Rehanon (who came all the way from Brighton!) from Miss Demeanour Is On The Make.

Thank you all for coming, and for being so creative!

Over the next couple of weeks I am going to speak to a few different charities about taking some of the dresses, so keep checking back and hopefully you will see where your dress ends up! I heard yesterday that the trip to Ghana went well, and the dresses that Jenny took out for me were a great success. Hopefully I’ll have some photos to show you soon.

You can read more about my challenge here, and see other dresses that have been made in the Gallery.

Here are a selection of photos from last night (click on one and they get bigger), as you will see from the last photo I have only had time to sort the dresses into piles, so will show you the finished creations later this week!

 

8 thoughts on “Thanks for a great night!

  1. I particularly like the owl one!
    If I hadn’t gorged on mince pies earlier in the day I would have had one of those delicious cakes to further distract from my own poor sewing skills. The only downside to the evening. Well done on surpassing your targets!!

  2. Yay, well done you! What an achievement. Does this mean you are allowed to buy yourself more dresses? After all you were going to make one for every dress you have!

    And am I really sad for looking for the photo of ‘my’ dress? Thanks for the photo – it looks great with yellow buttons!

  3. What a lovely evening. Thanks for hosting Peggypickles! I had such a great time in the company of such lovely people and it was so lovely to meet you in person. And not least of all what an amazing pile of dresses…. you should be so proud! 🙂

  4. Pingback: More Dresses! | Peggy's Pickles

  5. Pingback: The last little dresses | Peggy's Pickles

  6. Pingback: And the winner is…. | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

