Slow and steady wins the race. Apparently…

I have now been making my Clothes Making class skirt for about 7 weeks. It is meant to take a few hours.

I had planned to show you the finished skirt this week. Other than pillowcase dresses I haven’t made anything of interest for ages now and it would be nice to show you a completed garment. However, I am planning to make up for this after Christmas when I have completed the 30+ pillowcases that are currently staring at me waiting to be made.

As many of you will know, or have gathered by now, patience is not a skill I would ever be able to boast about on a CV. I have very little of it, and the slowness of this skirt is driving me nuts!

As a class of 14, it takes time for the tutor to get round us all, and also means queuing for the overlocker. If it wasn’t for that then I would have been done years ago!

Waiting for the tutor to get to you feels like a bit of a waste of time, but it is worth doing as rather than just following the pattern, she has been teaching me better ways of making the skirt. For example I learnt how to do the super tidy curved pockets, and this week I learnt sink stitching as a neater way of finishing the waistband.

Sink stitch means that you don’t have any top stitching showing where you have joined the waistband to the skirt. Instead you sew in the ‘ditch’ of the join so that the stitches are neatly hidden.

First attach the waistband to the skirt as per the instructions, but only on the outside, not the side that will join on the inside of the skirt.

Now, with the waistband folded over, tack the unattached side of the waistband to the inside of the skirt. The folded edge must be just below the start of the waistband on the outside of the skirt.

Turning the skirt over to the outside, sew along the ditch or valley created by the skirt and the waistband join. This will attach the waistband fully with stitches that can barely be seen (if you are an accurate sewer!).

The blue line shows where the sink stitch is, and as you can see from the image below it is very well hidden.

I found this really good blog post on sink stitch, with a handy video if you want to see sink stitch in action!

6 thoughts on “Slow and steady wins the race. Apparently…

  1. Pingback: Finished project: V1179 dress | Peggy's Pickles

  2. Pingback: Finished project: Butterick B5217 | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

