Every Girl Deserves a Pretty Dress

As I’m sure you all know by now, I own a lot of dresses! Dresses make me happy.

Yesterday I was looking through online craft magazine The Craft Tonic (Issue 3), and came across an article which actually made me cry – I cry at a lot of things, but that’s not what you expect from a craft mag!

The article told me about Dress A Girl Around The World, a charity based in the US that asks you to ‘Imagine a world where every little girl owned at least one dress’, and then tells you how you can make simple dresses from pillow cases. These dresses are then distributed to girls in countries such as Malawi and Kenya. I know how good dresses can make you feel, and I cannot imagine not being able to own even one.

You can read more on the Dress A Girl Around The World website, or on the Sew Scrumptious blog.

As I sit here with 52 dresses in my wardrobe, I am feeling more than a little bit guilty. But am definitely going to do something about it!

Lots of sewing bloggers set themselves challenges, so that is what I’m going to do. I would like to make at least 52 pillowcase dresses, one for each of my own. It would be great to set a time limit of Christmas in which to do this, but I’m going to need your help!

Girls in Haiti. Photo from http://sewscrumptious.blogspot.com

There are a few different options of how you can help me and the dresses out:

1) Send me pillowcases!!

Each dress uses one pillow cases, so if you have any in good condition, or find any in charity shops, or want to go out and buy new ones that would be great.

Each dress also requires the following: 37cm of ¼” or ½” elastic, 92cm of doublefold bias tape. If you can’t supply these with your pillowcase then that is fine – it just makes it easier for me if everything comes together. You can get elastic and bias tape from haberdashery shops and places like John Lewis.

2) Make dresses!

You can do this on your own at home, and then pass the finished dress on to me. If you have a sewing machine then it will obviously be a bit quicker, but I don’t see why you couldn’t make them by hand if you don’t. I can then make sure all our finished dresses get to Dress A Girl Around The World.

There is a really good pattern to download and then a tutorial here, from Little Big Girl Studio.

You can also download a PDF of the original pillow case instructions from Dress A Girl Around The World here.

3)  Tell EVERYBODY!

Whether you forward this blog page on, speak to a craft loving friend, or tweet, tweet, tweet, the more people you can tell the better!

4) We can have a dressmaking party!

I would LOVE to do this! If enough people respond, then I will see about organising this. Not sure of the logistics yet as I only have one machine at home!

So, how are you going to get involved?! Let me know either by putting a comment on this post, or emailing me at spally55@hotmail.com.

If you want to send something and need my address, its probably best to email me first and I’ll let you know what it is that way.

I promise I will blog about each of the dresses that we make!

27 thoughts on “Every Girl Deserves a Pretty Dress

  1. Pingback: Every Girl Deserves a Pretty Dress – UPDATE | Peggy's Pickles

  2. Not a pretty pair of shorts? 😉 Unfortunately I haven’t got any pillow cases here…maybe my parents wouldn’t miss one…hehe..

  3. brilliant idea i’m definitely going to contribute one way or another… well done… only saw this by chance but have now posted it to my facebook page…

  4. Fantastic! Thank you so much for joining in. I look forward to reading about your adventures with making dresses!! There will be an update about the UK in the next edition of The Craft Tonic and there is also now a facebook page too! http://www.facebook.com/DressagirlaroundtheWorldUK

    64 new addresses arrived today and I’ve just made a great new contact re hopefully getting the dresses taken to where they are needed too. Will email you!

    • Have had so much response from this – already two dressmaking parties in the pipeline, and my mum is hopefully going to set up a little sewing group! I reckon we can get lots more than 52 dresses made by Christmas (may have just shot myself in the foot there!!).

      Look forward to your email – am happy to get as involved as I can in anything else you are doing for this.

  5. I’ve posted at work about pillowcases and will see what i can do to help, either help cutting patterns at your party or maybe make up some dresses, but Christmas time is a little manic for me – but I will help as much as i can!!

  6. I can’t sew to save my life but when I get all my new house bits and bobs at the end of the month I will send you a pillow case.

  7. what a great idear i cant sew but i can donate pillow case for you please sent me email where i send pillow cases too thank you

  8. Count me in! I’ve bought some pillowcases on eBay and appealed to my colleagues at work for more pillowcases. Once I’ve gathered enough materials I’ll start sewing up a storm. I think this is a great project to be involved in!

Leave a Reply

