Sunny Sorbetto

After a not particularly nice visit to hospital this morning, I decided I needed to do something to cheer me up.

Months and months ago I printed off the pattern for the Sorbetto Top by Colette Patterns. It is quite a summery top, but the weather in London looks to have decided it is finally summer so it seemed the perfect pick-me-up.

Thankfully Peggy was on hand to guide the way when cutting out the pattern…

I had been planning to use the fabric below for the top, which I bought from an antiques shop in Portland, Oregon, USA.

I thought this would be the perfect time to use this fabric as Colette Patterns is run by Sarai Mitnick, who lives in Portland. Having followed the Colette Patterns blog for quite a while, on my recent trip out there I was lucky enough to meet Sarai and even go on a fabric shopping spree with her. You can read about it here.

So you see, the fabric is perfect! Apart from one minor detail – it’s too small! Try as I might, and using all the skills I learnt yesterday in my clothes making class, I still couldn’t get the pattern pieces to fit. It was very sad.

Again, Peggy came to the rescue and showed me that all was not lost. Also in my stash I had some beautiful Liberty cotton that my friend Sally gave me.

So, with the emergency over I settled down at my sewing machine, and after a couple of hours I had made the Sorbetto top. I felt altogether more cheery than I did this morning!

Here is the finished piece, what do you think?!

Me feeling slightly silly!

I used a contrasting biased tape around the neck and arm holes

Detail of the pleat down the front

7 thoughts on “Sunny Sorbetto

  1. Pingback: Matchstick Men | Peggy's Pickles

  2. That;s really pretty, love the print.

    What are you going to do with the other material though if it won’t make a top? More cushions? 🙂

    • You can never have too many cushions Jo!

      Think it might have to be used as part of something else, maybe pockets or something as it looks like it’s going to be too small for anything else. We shall see!

  3. Pingback: Birthday Sorbetto | Peggy's Pickles

  4. Pingback: Bit of a bodge job | Peggy's Pickles

Leave a Reply

