Clover sewalong

For the eagle eyed among you, you will have noticed a new button on the right of the homepage screen. I am taking part in my first sewalong!

I decided to take part in this before I decided to set myself the Pillowcase Dress Challenge, so I am already massively behind in the sewalong. Think I’m just going to have to do it at my own pace.

The sewalong is done by Colette Patterns (can you tell how much I like their patterns yet?!), and talks you through in detail how to make their Clover trousers. So far I have managed to get the pattern and some fabric. The sewalong is already at fitting stages so I have a bit of catching up to do!

The fabric for these trousers needs to have some stretch in it to be comfortable when the knees bends and for general movement. It should have 1 – 3% lycra / spandex in it – this is what gives it it’s stretch. You don’t want more than 5% lycra otherwise the trousers will look like leggings!

The drape of the fabric should also be slightly stiff. Drape is the way fabric hangs. In my research to try and explain to you what drape is, I found it done much better on the Colette Patterns blog.

There is also a handy diagram about different types of fabric and their drapeyness (pretty sure I just made that word up) – I’m putting this in for my benefit more than anything!

I bought the fabric below to make the trial ones where you work out any alterations to make to the pattern. It is cotton drill, made from 97% cotton and 3% spandex. The cotton was quite expensive though, so am wondering whether to make the real things out of this – what do you think? Too bright for trousers?!

2 thoughts on “Clover sewalong

    • Thanks Rupert.

      If only you were the real Rupert, and not my husband sitting downstairs trying to make up for a terrible error you made by not pointing out the real Rupert as he walked past me one day. A day when I had to go to the hospital to have some nasty injections. A day when seeing the real Rupert would have cheered me up no end. Not that I’m holding a grudge or anything…

Leave a Reply

